The purpose of membership in the sangha is to make the practitioner feel like they are part of something.

Becoming a member of the Dharma Winds Zen Sangha is a statement about your personal commitment to the path of awakening.

It means participating with a community of practitioners who aspire to follow the Chan/ Zen path with simplicity, humility, sincerity, and an open heart. We endeavor to inspire each other to deepen our practice of cultivating Mindfulness, Compassion, and Wisdom.

Anyone is welcome to become a member of the Dharma Winds Zen Sangha, you just have to ask.


Membership is a way to express appreciation for the Chan/Zen tradition and to connect yourself to the teachings.


Connection with this community can help support your practice.


The opportunity to practice with an authorized Chzn/Zen Teacher.

We give precepts free of charge to people demonstrating a sincere desire to follow the Buddha’s EightFold Path through the Five Lay Precepts and Three Refuges.

People demonstrating a more profound engagement with the path may enter into the Path of Chan/Zen Buddhist Priesthood by asking to receive Novice-Ordination, after a period of discernment made of study, practice and meeting with an authorized Dharma Teacher of the Sangha.

If you’re interested in…

  • Meditation instruction
  • Learning more about Buddhism
  • Taking Precepts (becoming a Buddhist)
  • Having a teacher
  • Spiritual guidance
  • or if you just have questions

Don’t hesitate to contact us through the contact form on our Links page

The Refuge Vow marks the moment an individual embarks on the Buddhist Path. We take Refuge in the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha.

Refuge Vows are the beginning.

With Refuge Vows we also take the Five Precepts. This is when one enters into a formal relationship with a  teacher and declares their intent to try to walk the Buddhist Path. The Five Precepts are the foundation of Buddhist ethics. These aren’t a list of commands, but rather a list of vows with the intent of promoting harmony and living a good life that won’t distract us from our practice. The Buddha taught that the precepts provide the foundation for our well being.

The Five Precepts:

I vow to abstain from taking life.

I vow to abstain from taking things not given.

I vow to abstain from misconduct done in lust.

I vow to abstain from lying.

I vow to abstain from intoxicants, taken to induce heedlessness.

Taking this initiation means recognizing the importance of this path and declaring our intent to make it part of our lives. It means joining the tradition and lineage of others who are also making a great effort.

When you take five precepts, you will receive a Buddhist name

Taking the five precepts means recognizing the importance of practicing, and making it part of your everyday life.

When taking the Precepts the practitioner receives the title “Upasaka/Upasika”

If you’re interested in initiation or you have questions, send a message here